Internet

This is what normalcy looks like.

 

The internet guy came by a week early and installed the internet phone line. Unfortunately I didn't have the router yet so he couldn't hook everything up while he was here. I borrowed an extra router from a coworker and brought in one of the Chinese Teaching Assistants who translated everything in the manuals to set up the wifi; reading Chinese technical manuals is hard for Chinese. I was astounded everything actually works.

I can't understate the importance of being connected while being someplace far away from everything you know. The places, faces, names, foods, customs and most anything else is all unfamiliar, presented in a new, confounding language and script. The internet brings a modicum of comfort and the familiar that can't be expressed in a few words in the morning. That's all for now, I just wanted to let everybody that my internet is up, so I'll probably be posting more frequently, with longer posts since I won't be in a rush.

One thought on “Internet

Leave a Reply

